11/23/14

The Museum of Intangible Things

Author: Wendy Wunder 
Pages: 304 
Publisher: Razorbill 
Format: Hardcover 
My Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Summary (from Goodreads): Hannah and Zoe haven’t had much in their lives, but they've always had each other. So when Zoe tells Hannah she needs to get out of their down-and-out New Jersey town, they pile into Hannah’s beat-up old Le Mans and head west, putting everything—their deadbeat parents, their disappointing love lives, their inevitable enrollment at community college—behind them. 

As they chase storms and make new friends, Zoe tells Hannah she wants more for her. She wants her to live bigger, dream grander, aim higher. And so Zoe begins teaching Hannah all about life’s intangible things, concepts sadly missing from her existence—things like audacity, insouciance, karma, and even happiness.



My Summary: Zoe and Hannah have been best friends since third grade. They've seen each other's ups, downs, and shared every moment together. Hannah dreams of attending a college where her high IQ will be good for something, and Zoe wants to attend fashion design school in New York. Both girls know that there is absolutely no chance of either of them making it out of their backwards hick town, but as long as they have each other they know it won't be all bad.

But as Zoe begins to lose touch with reality and Hannah's last shot at even community college is dashed, the girls decide that all there's left to do is get as far away from their old lives as possible. So they pack a few bags and drive off in Hannah's car with only one destination in mind: away.

Along the way, Zoe schools Hannah on all things intangible; love, dreams, fun, and learning when to let go. 

My Thoughts: This was a quick read for me - four hours give or take - but it was a lot of emotion packed into a short amount of time. Zoe and Hannah have the kind of bond that only forms after knowing each other your entire lives, and it was a lot of fun getting to watch them experience life outside of their small town. It may have some elements of romance (Hannah's relationship with Danny) but I found that the strongest love in this novel was the love between Zoe and Hannah. 

The writing was very well done, but I found it a little difficult to connect to the characters at some points. All in all though, a very solid read that I would recommend to those who like contemporary YA.

Final Thoughts: Check out The Museum of Intangible Things if you're looking for a contemporary romance and enjoy reading about road trips. Fans of Amy & Roger's Epic Detour and Two-Way Street will definitely enjoy this novel.

No comments:

Post a Comment

tell me what you think!